• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

PhD or Masters

Hi Guys,

I have a master's degree in electrical engineering and working in a high-tech company as a software programmer. I have no major complaints with my current job, but felt I won't reach anywhere with the current career. When I joined my current company, I was introduced to the company stock purchase plan, stock options and 401(k) plan. I started doing a lot of research on the internet and that's how I got attracted to the finance world. Since then I am an addict of CNBC.

The other day I searched monster.com for a credit derivatives/quant analyst/associate position and found few jobs paying in $200K and $400K range. Is this kind of pay check normal? If not when and how would one get such high pay checks. Here are some examples:

http://jobview.monster.com/getjob.asp?JobID=65246860
http://jobview.monster.com/getjob.asp?JobID=65600765

Since I already have a master's degree and three years experience in my current job, I would like to opt a PhD in finance engineering instead of masters degree. Any suggestions? Pay check is the major reason I want to take a right turn in my career. I am thinking of applying to columbia, cornell and princeton. Any suggestions there?

Thanks a bunch,
Kiran.