• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Profile evaluation for finance related courses

I'm in kind of a unique situation where I'm interested in a Masters in Finance/ Financial Economics/ Financial Engineering course, but I don't currently study in the states. [Possibly to the Top 10 in the QuantNet list + Oxford + Cambridge + LSE]

I am currently a final year student in the University of Warwick, studying BSc Economics with a predicted First Class Honors. My school doesn't really do GPA like in the states and usually awards first class honors if you get above 70% average, it's the UK system basically. I can't find any information regarding how this translates to a US score or how admission officers look at it. Any advice will be appreciated.

However, I have little finance experience. The only work experience I have is two years in the Armed Forces. In addition I am a member of Professional Risk Managers' International Association (PRMIA) and Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst (CAIA) Association, not sure if these will give me any advantage. Does anyone have any knowledge if such qualifications confer any advantages to applicants applying for Finance related masters? You'd have to pass 4 risk management related exams for PRMIA and 2 exams for CAIA in order to become a member.