• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Quant Developer with only C++ knowledge

Hello,

Little info on my background: I did bachelors in CS and MBA in management (not from top school). I have 3+ years of experience in designing and implementing procurement systems.

IT skills: C++, Java, XML, SQL, Javascript.

I have very strong desire to work in the financial industry (with no real knowledge). I want to become a quant developer. Can I become a quant developer with C++ skill and strong desire to work in the finance. I cannot go to school for PT/FT for MFE. Will any certification like CFA level1 or CQF help to become quant developer if C++ is not enough? Please suggest some path.

thanks in advance.

You might squeeze into a quant dev role if your C++ was very good, have to say that is a higher filter than it sounds.