• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Quant internship disaster

Hi everyone,

I am a 3rd year PhD student in Financial Engineering and so far, I have been bombing my quant internship interviews mostly due to lack of preparation. I could solve 50-70% of the puzzles/math questions and struggled in the remaining part. I got held up in my research and couldn't spend as much time in preparation as I thought I could when I made the applications. I am now contemplating to stay in school for a year more and re-apply next year for the same internships. I am wondering if firms would be willing to give candidates a second shot one year down the line. Sorry if my question sounds silly but I am just worried about the long term consequences of my current disastrous interviews.

Thanks.

Some on the board of directors, because of this, were lobbying to remove Watson as IBM's President. He needed these inventories sold.

A very large government bid, approaching a million dollars, was on the table. The IBM Corporation—no, Thomas J. Watson Sr.—needed every deal. Unfortunately, the salesman failed. IBM lost the bid. That day, the sales rep showed up at Mr. Watson’s office. He sat down and rested an envelope with his resignation on the CEO’s desk. Without looking, Mr. Watson knew what it was. He was expecting it.

He asked, “What happened?”