• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

quantitative researcher vs financial analyst

Hello, I'm an international student who is studying with the goal of Quant. Recently, I got information that Quant's income is less than that of traditional fund analysts, so I want to check if it is true.

-Financial analyst has the opportunity to be promoted over time and become a portfolio manager and make a lot of money.
junior analyst (2–3 years) -analyst (3-4 years) -senior analyst (3-5 years) -portfolio manager
- In the beginning, they receive similar or less money than quant, but senior analyst can earn 500k to 1m and portfolio manager: 1m to 3m.
-Quant researcher has an upper limit of compensation. After a career, you can earn 500k, but it is very difficult to earn more than 700k. (because in most cases there is no pnl)
-Quant researcher can become a quantitative portfolio manager, but the odds are low and the rewards are also lower than portfolio managers

There is a question when assuming that the above information is true.

Many people from mfe programs go through IB, and I know that there is a way to become a hedge fund analyst after two years of experience in IB.
What are the advantages of choosing a quant instead of an analyst?
Do analysts really make more money than Quant?
How likely are analysts to be promoted to portfolio manager?