• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

QuantLib - Pricing Swaps

Hob

Hi all,

I am very new to both swaps and QuantLib, I have had a look at the pricing demo spreadsheet using QL as an .xll, I have a couple of questions about pricing swaps however.

I understand the basic concept of a swap (with a fixed and floating leg), however, after you have constructed a discount curve with the deposit/swap helpers in QL you have the NPV of the fixed leg. For the floating leg, however, you need the estimated forward rate.

I am a little confused about the classes such as (qlEuribor), used in the example, which takes inputs (ObjectID,Tenor(6M),YieldCurve(from bootstrap),Permanent,Trigger). After generation of the yield curve, what does the qlEuribor class do with just the Tenor and Yieldcruve? does it extract the forward rate from the yield curve? and is this pricing a swap using the Euribor rate? i.e would you switch the class to qlLibor to price using Libor?

Many thanks,

Hob

Hi Hob,

the QuantLib Project Suite contains a sample project Swap.
At best you debug it step by step :)

However, QuantLib is not easy.
If you are seriously going to learn it, have a look at this thread.

Hi Hob,