• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering.
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job.
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models.

Questions about quantitative investment managers

Qwer Ty

Hi,

I work as a derivatives modeling quant for fixed income in the Quantitative Research team at one of the largest BB banks. In future I intend to switch to buy side where I wish to work either in a quantitative hedge fund or a prop trading firm. It would be great if the community here can help me get answers to some of the questions I have:

1. It seems that Renaissance Technologies hires only PhDs. Is this a very stringent rule that they have set, or they sometimes do end up hiring non PhDs in their revenue oriented quant research roles?
2. I see quant funds hiring PhDs, and they also hire MFE/MFin students. So is there a difference in the kind of work that PhDs and MFEs would get, like MFEs wont be working on the same level of problems that PhDs would be working on ? Or its an even ground once you get hired and there is no difference in the kind of work they get?