• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Some General Suggestions for New Students

Hi there, I'm currently a second-semester MFE student and I just completed this course and received the certificate with distinction. Although I'm an MFE student, I still find this course extremely helpful to me since my program didn't provide comprehensive training in C++ (mainly focus on Python or R). Below are some of my suggestions which hopefully can serve as a general guide for new students.

1) I'm already familiar with Python(or R, etc.), is it still recommended that I learn C++?
The short answer is YES (I suppose that you're not a CS, EE student...)
Most of the Python courses do NOT really give you a good understanding of programming itself, but rather focus on teaching you how to quickly use it as a tool. For example, you might be pretty much clear how to create a function or class in Python, but have you ever notice whether you are dealing with a copy of an object or the object itself? After completing this course, I gained lots of deeper insights into programming itself, which I believe is quintessential in today's highly competitive job market. (C++ will give you a big surprise in Level 9's Monte Carlo Simulation if you had experience in implementing it in Python...)

2) How should I arrange my time? Can I complete this course in time?
The short answer is everyone can complete it on time as long as you are sufficiently dedicated.