• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Thesis Topic

I'm a Computer Science grad and current studying Masters in Software Engineering. I want to work as a quant developer, so I'm want my thesis to be something related to quant finance.

My supervisor is into Econo-physics, but I think its best I get into the Maths of finance rather than the Physics - I also have very little knowledge of Physics - he was the only lecturer that has done research in finance.

To make up for the knowledge, I've signed up and started "Mathematical Methods for Quantitative Finance" and "Introduction to Computational Finance and Financial Econometrics" on Coursera. Is there an order in which I should take these courses? Are there better courses that are more suited for me?

I had to pick a topic last semester (for admin reasons) but I can always change it. My topic was "Predicting Market Crashes", I realised that this doesnt really fitting into what I want to do - working with Black-Scholes, Monte Carlo, modelling, etc and most importantly, implementing something in C++/Python. Or maybe it does, I'd love to know how.

I want to combined Maths, CompSci & Finance. What research topics will best prepare me for the job market? And how should I start?

Thanks.

I'm a Computer Science grad and current studying Masters in Software Engineering. I want to work as a quant developer, so I'm want my thesis to be something related to quant finance.