• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Tower Research Quant analyst vs XR Trader

Hello Guys,

I graduated Comp-Sci in top school and worked as strategist in BB for a year. I recently got some offers with very similar benefit and package. However, actual role and environment is quite different.

My goal is to build my own profitable blackbox quantitative strategy in long term (~10 years). Whether be part of small team or founding fund.

Tower portfolio managers more fits to my goal of career. However, this role is more assistant function to do analysis, risk monitoring and reporting. Good thing is, they give me lot of free time to do research and simulation. If it becomes profitable then got promoted to Portfolio Manager (Quant Trader). There were junior traders did this for one to one half year and got promoted to PM. On the other hand, it is very siloed culture and I know it is pretty hard to build own profitable strategy by myself. This is quite risky choice but I can give a shot to do this with prestigeous firm.