• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Trying to choose between different roles based on eventual goal

I am currently working in Private Wealth Management Model Validation at an IB and have had experience in a Securitized Products Modelling team prior to my current role. In total, I have nearly had 5 years of Quant experience after graduating from a top 5 MFE program. I'm looking to shift into a new role that would put me on track to being able to eventually work under a PM on the buy-side. As I'm not a US citizen, it has proven to be easier to apply for roles internally, at the bank that I'm currently in. In doing this, I have received a couple of offers, at the same time. One for the Private Wealth Management Modelling team within the bank, which has the mandate to work on quantitative Strategic Asset Allocation, Dynamic Asset Allocation and Goal Based Asset Allocation models that are used to advice High-net Worth clients. The work primarily involves research and development of such models. The other offer I have received is for the MBS/CLO Research team within the bank (which sits on the trading floor), where I would be leveraging my quantitative background (specifically in Machine Learning) to help the team in publishing research and potentially helping advice the trading desks. Another offer I may be receiving soon is for a Funding trader role within the Treasury side of the bank, primarily focusing on Strategic ALM and ma