• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

UCLA MFE vs BU MSMFT

UCLA MFE vs BU MSMFT

• Total voters
Greetings all, I am trying to choose between UCLA and BU and could use some insight.

I think a better choice could be given if you provide your background, goals,etc.
Sure, thanks.

I am an Actuarial Sciences student from Latin America, 4 years of experience in strategy consulting, aiming to shift into quantitative research, portfolio management, risk management roles. Plan B is data science.

To complement my formation at consulting, I believe it is better for me to pursue the program with the higher technical demand within its coursework.

Regards

I do not know a lot about UCLA to be honest. Hence I would not be the best judge to compare both the courses.
But, I have been admitted to BU and have done significant research regarding the course. My sole goal has always been to enter the domain of Financial Technology, so after a good look at the coursework at BU, I would say that it does contain a good set of courses that enhance your technical skillsets.
Courses like advanced programming, advanced ML, algorithmic trading, data analysis, and financial econometrics; are a few of the courses that will boost your technical knowledge.