• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

UCLA MFE UCLA MFE?

Matthew Graham

Quantneter
Does anyone have any thoughts on the likely quality of the UCLA MFE program? I applied to Berkeley and UCLA only. I have an MBA from the Simon School (University of Rochester), 770 GMAT's, and have "hold" status for Berkeley. I applied for the last UCLA deadline and have not heard anything back as of yet.

Thank you.
Matthew Graham

search this forum. There is a thread about that program somewhere here

I too applied for Berkeley and UCLA only. I was offered admission at UCLA couple weeks ago. Haven't heard anything from Berkeley though.

Good luck!

Mat,

yoour profile is too good for UCLA man...!! You should be in for Berkeley ! I also applied for ucla around their deadline and have not heard from them...!! so dont knw wats next in for me..!! will apply to other schools for 2009 session.

Thanks,

Kshitij

Here is my rejection letter from UCLA:
UCLA MFE Rejection Letter

I'm really disappointed, but I'm not giving up. Thanks for your kind words.

Hey Matthew, bummer about the UCLA thing.

Personally, I think with that GMAT, you don't deserve UCLA. You deserve better.

Looks like lack of having the math classes did you in. Calc 1 and 2 doesn't even scratch the surface.