• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Undergraduate courses to get into grad school

Hi.

I'm an undergraduate, and I'm registering for courses for the upcoming fall semester. I'd like to attend a (highly-ranked) graduate program to work in quantitative finance. Which of the following classes is best for me? These are the ones I've been considering:
  1. Graduate-level measure theory class
  2. Graduate-level mathematical statistics class
  3. Graduate-level PDEs class
  4. Graduate-level convex optimization class
  5. Graduate-level linear programming class
I'll also be taking a grad level probability theory class. I'll have already taken a grad stochastic processes class.

Also, I'm a math+cs double major.

Any advice is appreciated.

EDIT: I thought it should be noted that the convex optimization class is in the electrical engineering department. The linear programming class is offered by the business department. The PDEs, mathematical statistics and measure theory courses are in the math department.

Last edited:
4. There are many non-convex problems.
5. Not sure how useful LP is, most problems are nonlinear?

Out of curiosity, do you have a list of topics for PDE class?

4. There are many non-convex problems.
5. Not sure how useful LP is, most problems are nonlinear?

Out of curiosity, do you have a list of topics for PDE class?