• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Chicago MSFM Unofficial review of Chicago MSMF program

Saw this on GD. Maybe QN can ask that guy to submit an official review here. That would provide more credibility to what he said
I am a student in the program and would strongly agree. The MSFM program sucks. There is a LOT of scope for improvement.

Two good things about the program:

1. Roger Lee: He is a God. Beyond excellent. Takes his time to work through the material. Uses 3 standard textbooks. Derives all the proofs. If you are not taking the Math of Options class offered by him this semester, you are wasting your time at Chicago.

2. Nygaard: The regression analysis class is surprisingly quite good.

Bad things about the program: Everything else!

Horrible stochastic calc professor, Stoc Calc was a total waste of time and money, will have to retake this someplace else.

useless TAs, giving 1 word answers like "yes!", "no!" even when you ask a question in detail.

rampant and widespread homework copying among students. You can actually SEE people sitting and copying answers from each other half hour before the class starts. quite sickening. Don't see what is the point of homework if everybody is cut-pasting solutions.

office hours are a waste