• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

What jobs should I look for before pursuing MFE?

I'm a CS undergrad who will be graduating in Spring 2013. I will be interning Chicago over the summer, but it's not at a financial company. I would like to pursue an MFE to break into finance a few years later, but I want to gain some experience BEFORE I enroll.

What kind of jobs should I apply for? My internship will be in Java web services development, but I'm willing to switch over to any other technology stack as long as it will look favorable to employers once I enroll in an MFE program.

*I know 'learning to code' in general is far more important than targeting a particular technology stack, but I'd like my real-world experience to be as relevant as possible to quant finance.

===== A little about me ====

I've been pulling up my GPA, so by the time it's my final semester in college, I'll have a 3.5x/4.00 GPA and a 3.8x/4.00 CS GPA. "Descent" interviewing and networking skills.

why not take a finance course or two next year, start running your own brokerage account (paper is fine if you don't have the money), and writing up weekly macro newsletters/stock pitches? then you can potentially target entry level roles in chicago prop shops instead of continuing along the programming track with little to no knowledge of the financial markets.

Thank you mfegrad for your reply. I think that is a fantastic idea - most ideal, that is.