• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Suitable roles for a PhD graduate (in computational fluid dynamics)

Hi all,

I'm sorry for digging up this old thread but I thought it would make sense to post on here because the thread already has a lot of background information about me. I also apologise in advance for the long post and for asking so many questions.

Background

I’m a PhD student in computational fluid dynamics at a non-target university in the UK, and I want to apply for full-time quant research (QR) roles (not quant dev roles). I have heard that hiring for these roles starts in August and ends in January (at the latest), i.e., hiring is going on right now. However, I can’t apply to these roles just yet because I assume interviews require stats/machine learning skills, but my skills are limited to numerical methods (finite difference/volume) and C++/GPU programming. My stats skills are at highschool level except for basic stochastic calculus, linear regression (OLS) and standard Monte Carlo (from a previous full-time non-quant finance role). I have no experience in machine learning either, other than Andrew Ng’s 11 week Coursera course in Octave/MATLAB which I did more than three years ago. So, I have four questions:

Questions
  1. Is there any hiring for QR roles other than between Aug - Jan?