• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Affidavit of support

Hello everybody,

I was admitted to the program and extremely happy and exited because of this event.

I am an international student and I read on the forum that I should show significant amount of money on the account.
I live with my uncle who is the American citizen. If he signs affidavit of support can I show less sum on the account? What is the whole procedure of taking I-20 form and student status?
Thank you for the reply in advance.

Congratulations, Vadim
I'm excited for you as well ;)
As for the amount to show, you must show at least that amount. Even your uncle sponsors you, it does not reduce the amount required to issue I-20. However, you can ask your uncle to co-sign loans for you.
Since you are US-based, as soon as you complete the paper, you will receive the I-20 form from Baruch. I would suggest that you stop by the ISSC office sometimes and get them to answer your specific questions.

You can get form I-134 downloaded from USCIS.GOV. Follow the instruction of the form and notarized it after finish. I am afraid that your uncle has to show the evidence that he afford to cover all your expenses during study...which includes his paycheck stub for the past three months, bank statement...you are still Internatioanl Student even if you don't have other legal status here (permenant resident, H1, F2, H4....)