Calculating Betas in Excel

Hi guys, not sure if I've posted in the correct section but....

I trade oil futures currently, and spreads/flies more specifically, and am looking to add a bit more structure to what I do and I was looking for a bit of help if anyone could entertain my curiosity for a bit. I started trading oil future spreads a few months ago, but have come from a background of trading fixed income options. In fixed income we always have a futures curve (yield curve), and this is basically exactly the same in oil, for example Mar15-Jun15-Sep15-Dec15-Mar16….etc.

Now when I was trading FI options we used to calculate a beta for the whole curve, calculated against the furthest future in this case, as it was the one that moved the most. So we could then say well if this future moves 5 ticks, the other months will move 1-1.5-2-2.5 ticks etc etc, and could then have a better idea of what our risk would look like on a big move one way or the other, and would have an idea of what our deltas would be there.

Given I’m now trading futures I had never really looked at this angle as most guys seem to just look at a graph and try averaging in, but I’m beginning to wonder if it’s worth looking in to it. In oil the front expiry is the one that generally moves the most. So what I was thinking was calculating the betas of the various expiry months, basing them off the front future, and then I could calculate a beta for specific spreads or flies. This would also give me an idea of my directional risk as well which isn’t immediately obvious when you’re trading spreads/flies, but as the market moves higher or lower these spreads are of course affected.