• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career advice needed: From finance developer to quant?

Hi all,
I have a computer science master degree and just starts my career as a software engineer at a well-known fintech at NYC, but I have long-term interest in applied mathematics/stat/machine learning. So I'm always considering a career of being data scientist or machine learning engineer in future.

However, in finance world, we have "quant", which is equivalent to "data scientist specialized in finance" in my eyes, is that correct? Or maybe there's fundamental difference btw "quant" and "data scientist"?

I guess many software developer in finance world may have struggled: Should I switch career to quant? And I have pros and cons:

Pros:
1. I wouldn't be a tech person forever. Domain knowledge is also important, while finance is one of the fields where we could perfectly combine my tech skills (math + coding), domain knowledge, and soft skills.

2. Quant is the core tech role for financial institutions, while software engineer mostly serve as support.

3. I would learn finance/money/investment heavily, and establish a network with many other non-tech people (from hedge funds, hft, banks), which may hugely expand my horizon and life scope.

4. I think I'm kind of non-typical software engineer. I like communication and I think I like and talented in both math and coding.