• Start date Start date

Which one?

• CU MathFin

Votes: 19 65.5%
  • Toronto MMF

Votes: 10 34.5%

• Total voters
Hi everyone,

I have got admission from both programs, Columbia Mathematics of Finance and Toronto Mathematical Finance . I am an international student and want to get a job in US/Canada after graduation.

Columbia:
pro:
1. Great location in NYC and thus more job opportunities.
2. Decent reputation of CU.
con:
1. It seems the placement record is not very good. I would have to compete with guys from tier1 programs for a job in NYC, i.e., NYU, CMU, Columbia MSFE , etc. And I am afraid that I cannot get a good job.

Toronto:
pro:
1. Good placement record in Canada. 100% internship and easy to land a job in Toronto.
con:
1. Most students from this program can only work in risk management field.
2. Cannot go to Wall St and the market in Toronto is much smaller.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Toronto market is small and the most ambitious always gravitate towards NY/London.
However, Columbia has MFE, MS Operations Research, MS Financial Economics so there is a giant cohort competing for the jobs plus Math Fin is not on top of the pecking order.

There are many pros with Toronto. Assuming you are a Chinese, US immigration is a drag even after you land up a job with many hoops to jump....whereas Canada is ameable and you can be a perm citizen in 3-4 years. Imagine the scenario in entirety and make a pick.

Hi everyone,

I have got admission from both programs, Columbia Mathematics of Finance and Toronto Mathematical Finance . I am an international student and want to get a job in US/Canada after graduation.

Columbia:
pro:
1. Great location in NYC and thus more job opportunities.
2. Decent reputation of CU.
con:
1. It seems the placement record is not very good. I would have to compete with guys from tier1 programs for a job in NYC, i.e., NYU, CMU, Columbia MSFE , etc. And I am afraid that I cannot get a good job.

Toronto:
pro: