• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Do I have a shot??

Hey!

So I've been reading this forum on and off since Fall 2012 when I was searching for a career path. I was a senior undergrad pursuing a degree in Industrial Engineering. The spring prior, it dawned on my that my passion in finance is probably too strong to ignore so I picked up a minor in finance. I enjoyed all my Math classes (I took all the pre'reqs through Dif EQ) and really enjoyed my modelling classes (Stocastics, linear programming, some non-linear programming, etc.). My comp. programming skills are basic, but I do know some VBA for excel. I'm very motivated to learn more. When I decided to really go after pursuing a MFE (or MQF) last winter I was really rushed to take the GRE and meet the application deadlines. I didn't do near as well as I know I could on the GRE [Q: 161 (85%)] and got discouraged. I quit the persuit of my goal, succumbed to the pressure of increasing student loans (equaling about 30k at the time), and now I work a typical industrial engineering job making 60K a year and really not enjoying myself... I also feel like I am selling myself short.