• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

early career setback advice

Hello,

I need some career advice and possibly mentorship about my current situation.
I graduated from MSCF in 2022 and worked for ~2 years for a small prop trading firm as a QR.
My employment there terminated, and I have now found a new job as a Quant Analyst for a big bank.
Finding a new job was hard and took me a lot of time, and I have accumulated some months of unemployment gap.
During these months I realized that I probably missed some opportunities, and I did not take the most out of MSCF, and I am now trying to figure out a plan to relaunch my career.
How many months of unemployment do you think could be harmful to my future employability?
How could I reasonably justify this gap in my resume? With Non-compete/Garden-Leave? Could I somehow mitigate it by enrolling in CQF and putting it on my resume?
Another thing to mention is that I signed my new job contract 2 months ago, and I might still have to wait for another 2 months to start working because of the Visa transfer and immigration paperwork.
I am now 26, and I want to mitigate the impact of this setback on my future career.
What about starting a PhD in a couple of years, taking a part-time Master's in ML maybe, or again mitigating my unemployment gap with CQF or any other certification?