• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Finance background to MFE program

Hi everyone,

I am looking into Masters programs for FE or CS but unfortunately my degree is for Finance. I was wondering if it would sill be possible to pursue an MFE without a proper math background. I did do Calculus and Linear Algebra at LSE for one year but I do not think that's enough. Also I will be working at a well known fintech firm doing data analysis so I will have verified work experience for the programming side of things. I would also take the GRE Math Subject test as a way of learning and showing my math aptitude. My goal with either masters is to strengthen my technical education and either break into quant finance or go down the SWE path if I get a CS masters. Do you think its worth pursuing an MFE with my background or should I stick to trying to get a CS masters?

Any advice is appreciated, thank you

You can get into at least one MFE with only calculus and linear algebra, but I don't think it would be a good one, and I don't think you would get much out of it. Your current mathematical abilities are below what is advised for any program I've seen, and well below what is needed to get the most out of the really good programs.

There is good and bad news: