• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

From consulting to quant career advice

Hi everyone,

I am a physicist with an MSc in Theoretical Physics from european university (not UK). I work for a consulting firm for almost a year now. My role is in Risk consulting, and I have worked in 2-3 projects already, mainly in quantitative projects in Risk.

Before starting my current job, my goal was to be a quant in a bank/hedge fund, either middle office (MO) risk management or as a front office (FO) quant trader (I wanted front office more, but I was not sure if I could land a job there without PhD). However, having started the job in this area (all of the projects were in MO risk in banking), I have realized that....MO risk management is boring to me. The thing is , I really love math, and that's why I was considering a quant career. But in all of the projects I have personally worked, the projects involved very simple math/coding and they were mainly about implementing regulations. Keep in mind that in all of the projects I was working side by side with bank quants and it seemed that this is what they are also doing in their regular day to day jobs.