Further/Additional Education

Hallo All,
I have been reading posts on this forum for quite sometime and I have always found them to be very useful. Now I would like to ask for your advice on what to do in my next couple of years.
A little background about my self: I have a degree in Pure Mathematics from a top 5 EU University and a Master in Applied Statistics. Now, I'm here in the US doing a phd in Finance and Statistics (I'm in my 3rd year). My research interests are Limit Order Books and I have been working on a joint research project with a large US financial institution developing stochastic models for them. Once I'm done, I don't yet know whether I want to work in the Academia or go to the Industry hence I'm trying to keep both my options opened. Unfortunately, the Business School I'm in is more geared towards Behavioral Finance and the math and engineering schools at my University don't have much overlap with Finance. Given my non-Finance background I really only learn what I need for my research, by reading papers and going to conferences. However, I would like to learn more rigorously the broader picture of market-micro structure and also algo trading and I have been looking around for degrees/certificates that I could get in the next 2 years to fill such gap. Ideally, I would like something that would allow me to:
  • improve my coding skills (I use R and perl) and learn Finance specific functions/libraries
  • take classes either on-line or during the summer
  • finish it in 2 years at most
  • focus on how things work in the "real" world
  • not too focused on math but I'm ok with fairly advanced mathematical concepts