• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Good books for a relative amateur

Hello people,

I had a paper in Mathematical Finance in the final year of my undergraduation (I'm a math grad, btw, looking to pursue an MFE next). The two recommended texts I read for the same were Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (John C. Hull) and Investment Science (David Luenberger).

Given that I'm a relative amateur in need of greater exposure to finance, and specifically, quantitative finance, what books should I proceed to read next? I've seen the Master reading list for Quants, MFE (Financial Engineering) students, however it's hard to figure which ones I'll be able to comprehend easily. Which book is the next step in the right direction after Hull and Luenberger?

I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

I'd say "Stochastic calculus for finance 2" by Shreve.
It is clear, proofs are there and the style is easy to read... Typos list are available and corrections to exercises too.

Yes it's this one.
The first volume is about discrete models and the maths u'll find inside are of few interest to math undergrad (also u can find most of the binomial model discussion already in Hull) I think.
U'll find the necessary concepts from vol.1 recalled and developed more thoroughly if necessary in vol.2