• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

I am a finance major, should I apply for a MFE program?

roni

Cornell FE
Hello,
I am currently a finance student and I fell in love with the MFE program :). I really love all this quant/trading thing. However, as far as I know, most of the MFE students have a technical/engineering background (what I don't have).
I know that my quantitative background is not as strong and that's why I decided to change my minor from economics to mathematics. These are the classes I'm going to take:
Calculus II
Multivariative Calculus - Calculus III
Mathematical Probability
and Linear Algebra OR a basic programming class, even though I have some knowledge in C. (Which one of these two classes will benefit me most?)

should I change the math classes or maybe add one class ( I wish I could take more but Im graduating in spring 2010).

The thing is that I like finance and I really like the technical part of it (quant/trading), but I'm not sure I have the necessary skills for this program.

So, should I apply for a MFE program ? do I have any chance to get accepted?

My choices are UCB or Columbia. The good thing about Columbia is that its offering a dual degree MFE and MBA ( can this dual degree help me in any way?). Another thing, I was thinking of applying straight after the completion of my undergraduate degree, what do you guys think?

Thanks in advance,
Roni.