• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Masters or Work Experience?

Hello,

I've been perusing this forum from time to time for the past couple of months learning more about studying Math Finance and am writing my first post to ask whether you guys would recommend that I apply to masters programs or gather work experience first.

I am currently a dual degree student at Boston University with a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance and a Bachelors of Arts in Mathematics. My Math courses, I believe, are excellent preparation for a Math Fin program:
- all the standard "prereqs": Calc I-III (A), Differential Equations (A), Linear Algebra (A-)
- more advanced ones: PDE's (Fall), Probability (A-), Stochastic Processes (Spring), Analysis I (Fall) + II (Spring), Complex Variables (A), Chaotic Dynamical Systems (Fall), Math Finance - Derivatives (Fall)
Plus, I've taken Intro to Java (A) and Data Structures in Java (A-).

I haven't completed all these courses, but I will be done with most of these by the end of Fall semester at which point I figured I'd be sending out my applications to Masters programs. My goal, however, is not just to get any masters in MF - I will only be applying to the top schools in the US and to maybe two or three programs in the UK.