• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MFE after MS in machine learning?

• Thread starter Thread starter SeanLee
  • Start date Start date
Hey everybody! I am a master student in machine learning. Asking for any advices for career choice.

Here is my background
1. B.E. in CS (3.6/4.0 non-US school), M.S. in Machine Learning (4.0/4.0, top 4 CS school, will graduate in spring 2016)
2. 1-year startup. developer role. made a online game played by several million people.
3. 2-year research in computer vision, machine learning, multimedia. Published several papers on top ML, CV, HCI conference/journals.
4. Won some research competitions in the last two years.
5. Some leadership awards in college
6. GRE: old scale V680/Q800=> current scale V165/Q166

I am also preparing CFA level 1 test now (June).

Want a quant role in finance (trader or researcher). Any ideas about the chance to top MFE program? Or what I can do to increase such chance? Or is it possible to find a job with my machine learning master degree?

Really appreciate you guys' thoughts!

Last edited:
-Get into industry with Ms in Machine learning: take a look at the curriculum of say, CMU, NYU, Columbia etc...