Msc theoretical physics or Msc Financial Mathematics

• Thread starter Thread starter iqtbaq
  • Start date Start date
I am currently doing a bachelor degree on theoretical physics at imperial and thinking about continue to do a Msc of physics or change to Msc of financial Mathematics.

I think it will be better to explain a bit about my background to let you know why I am struggling. I want to be a quant or risk analyst in the future and physics has always been my favourite. I know my physics degree is far not enough for me to get into those positions and so I have self-learnt some basic finance knowledge. I have read books like Options, Futuresand Other Derivatives “ and also some books written by physicists about how to apply the physics knowledge or skills on the field. However, seems that those self-learnt experience is not convincing to those banks HR. I applied for internship (mainly risk analyst) in several banks and only got one interview invitation. I still got into the final interview but just got rejected few days ago.

So the reason why I want to take a financial maths master is that I think thats the thing I need to show I am really interested in this field and also convince people that I am capable of the position. I talked to few seniors and they think that I should keep on doing a Msc physics because thats what make me different to those majority people and can attract the employers. They think there are too many people crowded into the financial maths aspect and if I put myself into it, it may just make me less competitive.

I know that a decent degree can only give you an interview opportunity, and the rest is about your personality and capability. But now I cant even have an interview chance to show my talent, thats why I feel frustrated about my current subject.
Sorry that the post is a bit long. Any comment or advice will be grateful, especially from a physics graduate.