• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MSF or MBA

Hello,

Just to quickly give you background information I am currently an undergraduate majoring in Finance and Investments. Unfortunately, I was not able to attain an internship for the pivotal junior year due to the fact that I wasn't persistent enough/not sure that I really wanted to do finance. (mostly due to immaturity in terms of career orientation on my part and also because I do not go to a target school). I had an inclination towards trading, but now I know that that is what I want to do. However, I believe that I am at crossroads now, because I will have to apply to graduate schools or look for a job. I definitely don't want to be stuck at a job that I sincerely hate after school so I feel as if I should keep my options open during senior year. Nevertheless, I am not sure whether I should apply for an MSF or garner work experience then go for the CFA or MBA? Please keep in mind that I have had limited work experience (just 2 mediocre internships) and that I know that I would definitely like to attain a front office job in trading. Thank you very much for your input!!!

You can't say for certain that you hate a job until you work in one. And you may not hate it after only a few years.
The decision to go to grad school involves many factors
Can you/parents afford it time-wise, money-wise?
Would grad school get you closer to the job you want?