• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Need some guidance on preparing for commodity derivatives interview

Hi Everyone,

Let me preface by saying this, I am a recent graduate with an arts degree so not a lot of technical skills I can boast of aside from introductory compsci courses using Python (sorting was probably most complicated topic for me), and a ML intro course based on supervised learning techniques working in R (not a fan of R btw, prefer Python, however, never used Python for data analytics).

That being said, I am keen to learn technical skills required for data analytics. While I struggled to grasp the statistical theory behind the models I learned in my ML course (ex, NN, Random Forest, GLM, among others), the application of these techniques on a real dataset (from Kaggle, cc fraud dataset) and the results made a lot of sense to me. For example, evaluation metrics such as specificity vs sensitivity, and the combination matrices allowed me to defend one model vs another.