• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE NYU vs Columbia MSOR: internship, job, quality of life etc...

Hi everyone! First of all, thanks for this awesome website, I found a lot of very valuable information here. I got admitted to NYU and Columbia MSOR and I'm still wondering which one I should choose...
I got a few specific questions to help me make a decision.

1. I have a French engineering degree in quantitative finance (master equivalent) and I did only one intership in the economic departement of a French Embassy. I don't have an experience in finance. Given that the MSOR ends in may/june, is it possible to get an intership (I don't care if it's much longer than a summer) and then a full-time job as trader or structurer ? I see on banks website that you usually need to apply for a full-time position 6 to 9 months ahead... and I guess you can't get a job when you haven't done an intership yet.

2. I checked my unviersities alumni website and saw that most of the students who gradueted from NYU got more quantitative oriented jobs: algo trading, quant, structurer, one exotic options trader while those who gradueted from Columbia got more trading oriented jobs. Is that a general trend ?