• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Partial Derivatives of Index Straddle w.r.t. Index Constituents

Hi everyone,

I'm an undergraduate Math/Econ student planning on going onto a PhD in Finance. I am trying to replicate the results of the Driessen et al Journal of Finance paper on pricing correlation risk.

In order to delta/vega hedge a short index straddle I need to find the partial derivative of the straddle with respect to the variance of each constituent security, and the partial derivative of the straddle with respect to the constituent stock.

\[ \frac{\partial O_I}{\partial S_i} \text{ and } \frac{\partial O_I}{\partial \phi_i^2} \]

Where \(O_I\) denotes the price of the straddle, \( i \in [1, \ldots, n] \) are constituents of the index, and \( \phi_i^2 \) is the variance of the constituent.

As far as I understand Delta and Vega are linear functions, so can I just use the weighted greek of the straddle? Can I just take \( \omega_i \cdot \Delta_I \) and similar to get Vega?

Thanks for any help you can offer. My knowledge of option pricing is fairly limited, but I am anxious to learn more, so if you can point me in the direction of a book or some papers on the topic it would be great.