• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Portfolio management - CFA or not CFA ?

Hello all,

I am wondering about whether or not going for CFA.

Like many people here, I trained to become quant. I got a master in engineering and then a MFE from a top european school. I was targeting quant/trading jobs and was not very interested in PhDs.

On some recommendations I actually refused the quant positions I got to join an asset management firm as a portfolio manager. I started more as an assistant but I do now have own portfolios to take care of.

I was always a bit frustrated of not being able/allowed to use sophisticated techniques we develop and use as quants. At my company, we rely only on basics and fundamentals and have traditionnal funds.

Although I still miss doing the quant stuff from time to time, I am quite happy in my position. I would not want to go to IB. I also think I have plenty of things to learn in fundamentals (especially in corporate finance).

For this reason Im considering the CFA. What scares me is the amount of hours of I study required and the huge quantity of boring/useless stuff (of course nothing is 100% useless but you know what I mean...)
I have not studied since a year (apart from the litterature I like to read sometime in my free time) and I have to admit, I quite like my life now: Working hours are good and I can finally do sports, meet friends, learn languages and play music.