Profile Evaluation and advice in selecting a programme

Hi all,

I am newbie here and looking for some advice in selecting the right program(s) in MSFE and get my profile evaluated. This is my brief background:
  • Engineering in IT(Information Technology) from a tier-II college in India. Basic knowledge of C, C++, Java, MS Excel.
  • CFA Level I candidate (Dec 2014).
  • 5 years experience as an IT programmer(worked on mainframe legacy platforms) that includes 2.5 years of experience with a leading depository bank. Worked as a developer on the bank's custody application(that safekeeps securities, trade processing and corporate actions processing) and and a money market funds platform.
  • I am yet to take GRE/GMAT.
My objective is to work as a quantitative trader in US/South East Asia(the likes of Singapore) for a few years. I am also taking up MOOCs and brushing up calculus, probability & stats, differential equations. I plan to learn basic stochastic calculus.

My queries -
1. I plan to pursue MSFE in 2016. In general, by when should my GRE/GMAT scores be ready, and what are the admission deadlines for 2016?
2. What about scholarships for international students? Do universities award scholarships for those who need it?
3. Any areas I should work towards.

Last edited:
1) You should take your GRE/GMAT early enough so that your score is received by the schools you're applying to before their relevant deadlines. I suggest having the scores sent so it arrives 1-2 weeks or even earlier in advance, since schools are flooded with information near the deadline and information can get lost/delayed easily. It takes about 2-3 weeks for GRE scores to be sent to schools so that means you should ideally take the GRE 5 or more weeks before the earliest deadline. Admission deadlines vary by school.

If you are applying for Fall 2016 admission, most deadlines are in late fall 2015 / spring 2016, so you would probably want to take the test before the end of summer 2015.