• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Program Review - Master of Financial Mathematics (MFM) at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

I graduated in May 2017 and later in October, I got a full-time position at U.S. Bank's headquarter here in Minneapolis. My role is Credit Allowance Analyst. Generally, I develop benchmark models to evaluate loss outputs from the bank’s champion models. Based on risk factors that are not yet captured by the models, I perform analysis to support additional qualitative adjustments. Allowance for Credit Loss (ACL) Reserves are then determined by adding qualitative allocations to the quantitative model outputs.

Looking back the whole process from grad school to employment, I would really like to share my thoughts on the program.

1)During orientation, if you pass the placement exam, you can waive two fundamental calculus/algebra courses, FM5001 and FM5002. That will give you time to do a graduate-level minor study. Based on your interests, you can select courses related to Management, Computer Science, Applied Economics, Statistics, etc. I took database, python, and machine learning at that time and that really expanded my skillsets.