• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Question: Can I Quant Before I Learn?

Hello, I am a new member -- so hello, everbody!

I am a rising 4th year at a public school in Virginia (hint, hint ;)) and I would like to inquire about gaining access to a quant related field simply with a bachelors degree. I am majoring in economics and have a math minor, but I have had to take a lot of maths to get that minor -- it would probably be a math major anywhere else.

My math skills/classes: Econometrics, ODE, honors calculus 3 (we studied literally everything you could image, including PDEs), basic real analysis, stochastic processes, derivative pricing math, linear algebra, and others that may not apply

My CS skills/class: C++ (I am not an expert, but have a working knowledge -- I would call myself proficient), Python (same with C++ -- I am not an expert, but defeinitely proficient). I have also worked with MATLAB, but very little VBA.

Finance/business skills: I know this is a bit less relevant, but I have taken a lot of finance/economics class, including the behavioral finance, theory of financial markets, and econometrics.

It seems that my skills line up with the skillset needed to enter into the industry, but I will only have a bachelor's degree. Would it be possible to enter into a quant related feild to get some training before I enter into a MFE program?