• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Review of Jim Liew's Stat Arb Class

I’m currently a student at Baruch MFE and had the pleasure of taking Dr. Liew’s 5-course statistical arbitrage lecture series in Baruch’s inaugural Time Series Analysis and Algorithmic Trading course. The purpose of this post is to give readers a student’s perspective of what I believe to be one of the best quant courses on Wall Street.

Dr. Jim Liew offers this intensive statistical arbitrage course to students at Baruch MFE, Columbia MFE, and JHU MSE. He also has made this course available to industry practitioners for free, given that they complete a statistical arbitrage project for him after the course is finished. Dr. Liew received his PhD in Finance from Columbia Business School and has been an industry practitioner of systematic trading strategies ranging from macro to ultra high frequency.