• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Stevens MFE vs Fordham MSQF

Stevens MFE vs Fordham MSQF

• Stevens MFE

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Fordham MSQF

Votes: 4 80.0%

• Total voters
Hello, I'm an international student, and between accepted programs, I decided to choose my graduate program between two: Stevens MFE and Fordham MSQF.

I know these are not top-tier universities for financial engineering, so I think their difference isn't that big, but I want to make my best decision between the two.

I'll write some pros and cons for both programs from my point of view.

Stevens

• Pros:
    • Good location: close to NYC
    • Strong Mathematical Background: This program's origin was in the math department
    • Good curriculum(curriculum): I can clearly see what they would teach and which professor will take the class
    • Flexibility: It's an engineering school, so I can take some ML courses too.
    • Peers: Their undergrad students from CS/QF come to get an acceleration MS program at MFE, so it would be good for networking.
    • Recent ranking: It has been into the T20 since 2022
  • Cons:
    • History: Idk the reason why, but this program had low ranking at Quantnet. Lower than Fordham for years. Now it's #19 for two years.
    • Reputation: Maybe slightly lower reputation than Fordham in the finance industry?
Fordham

• Pros:
    • Good location: Classes are in Lincoln Center, in Manhattan.
    • Good curriculum