• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

To MFE or not...

My brief background first – I have an Engineering Masters and a CFA charter. I have been working in Product Control role (rates products structured to vanilla) for last 6 years at an investment bank plus have 1 year of experience as an engineer at an IT services firm prior to that.

I feel my career has been stalled for some time now. I'd ideally want to work in a Front Office (trading/strategist) or Risk Management role, and am wondering if I should go for an MFE to make that happen.

Weighing out several factors I see both pluses and minuses/questionables:

PLUSES
+ With the job placement services of a good college, could help me the long-needed job profile change. A strategist role (say) might make it worth it. I will probably have better job satisfaction doing something that is more aligned to business.
+ Money-wise, although I would have to spend a few years to recoup my investment, in long-term I think I NPV is positive.

QUESTIONABLES
- I am in early thirties. Average age for MFE students seems to be on late twenties from what's posted on websites of some top schools.
- Looking at salary levels of graduates, I already make on par or slightly less than what's on sites of some schools.
- I'll likely be promoted to VP this year-end. If I go for MFE starting in 2013, I will still have to start presumably as an Associate on 2014.