UWashington MS Computational Finance class 2013-2014

Hi guys, not sure if admission is already over, but would like to start getting in touch with future classmates here:) I'm an international student and will be joining the program this Fall.

Graduates and current students are more than welcomed to impart your wisdom and suggestions here too;) e.g. things to do to better prepare for the program, internship/job placement stats in great Seattle area etc etc

I got accepted and am tentative on the yes (reserved a spot). Ultimate decision will wind up being a financial one, no pun intended.

Hi IlyaKEightSix, thanks for the input, have you tried applying for scholarship of any sort at UW? (if that's the kind of financial predicament you're talking about though)

I am in the UW program and should be completing my degree in December (2013). I work full time and have been taking one class per quarter (for the last two years).

As to preparation: if you don't already have a solid statistics background (and perhaps even if you do) brush up on your statistics. In my view, you can't have too deep a background in statistics.

Almost all of the courses have some amount of R programming. There is an in depth course taught by Guy Yollen in R. There was/is also a mini-course in SQL.

For your professional future, the deeper your software background the better. If you are in Seattle and can take some computer science courses, I'd do so. I had classmates that took numerical analysis and other applied math courses to fill in the credits (they needed to take 10-units a quarter). I don't want to knock numerical analysis, since it is important, but there's only so much time. I think my classmates would have been better off taking courses in the CS department (UW has an excellent CS department). The better you are at C++ and Java the better your job prospects will be (you should get pretty good at R by the time you graduate).