• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

what course do I have to take?

Hi
I am currently a student from Washington university in st.louis.
I am rising junior and having hard time in deciding which course I have to take for this fall.

I am thinking to pursue in phd in economics or finance after I graduate.
I heard both of admission offices look for candidates who have taken a lot of math courses.I have two questions to ask you guys. First question is about my major.

I decided to major in both math and econ. However, I am currently majored in system engineering which teaches optimization and control system. Do you guys think that I should stick to system engineering rather than math and econ? Or do I have to switch to econ and math from system engineering to get into top school in ecnomic and finance. Also our school has finance department in undergraduate. Should I switch to finance instead of econ to get into phd in finance?

My second question is about my course plan.

I have taken calculus 2, 3 , differential equation, Matrix Algebra, and Intro to Statistic so far.

I have two options for this fall (junior)

First option is to take
1.probability
2.Foundation for Higher mathematic (prerequisite for real analysis1.)

They are not so hard math courses, and some people might wonder why don't I take real analysis and linear algebra for this fall.