• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Where to go from here?

First post here! I'm a student at the University of Queensland (Australia), studying a Bachelor of Advanced Finance and Economics. I chose this program as a school leaver as it seemed very quantitatively minded, which aligned with my strengths in school, and I wanted to pursue a career in finance. However after a few experiences on the job in traditional finance, I realised that I was looking for something more challenging and stimulating, and thus decided that I want to pursue a career as a quant. I already have some work experience in modelling futures and producing forecasts using AI which I found fun - I plan to return to this job over the remainder of my degree as an intern to improve my knowledge.

After a bit of research, I have realised that my degree, while covering stats and econometrics (ECON1310, ECON2300, ECON3350), doing some interesting maths (ECON2050), and offering me electives (which I will use to pursue computer science or mathematics subjects), does not fit the traditional quant mould.

Other relevant information is that the degree is 4 years long - I have already completed more than half of it.