• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Which road should I take?

JJH

I'm a graduate student in Finance, currently doing research for my Master's thesis. My studies have been going quite well and I have a lot of interest and knowledge on mathematical finance and investment management, so I have started to think about doctoral studies.

I have a background in math; I studied "hard core" math in university for a while but decided it was too theoretical for my taste and moved on to study economics and finance. Now finance is my major and I feel that it has interesting research topics and will be very useful in my future career. However, there are certain topics in finance that I'm not too keen about, namely corporate finance matters, which still are a big part of the broader definition of finance.

I would like to do a PhD in Finance and while at it, do another MSc in a supporting field, perhaps applied mathematics. I live in Europe and currently I want to study in my home country (I studied abroad a while back). I am considering the following options, which are available in my country's top universities:

1. PhD in Finance + MSc in Applied mathematics
2. PhD in Finance + MSc in Quantitative finance
3. PhD in Quantitative methods of economics + MSc in Quantitative finance