• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Advice on going into Quantitative Finance.

Hello all.

I am a 3rd year Student at a large public university in the Southeastern United States studying Mathematics & Music with minor in Finance.

I have a 3.80 GPA (specifically a 4.00 Math GPA), a fair number of extracurriculars, *research experience in Mathematics/Statistics (*provided I get into the REUs I applied to), along with being a math tutor for the university.

I have taken/will take the
1. Calculus Sequence
2. Linear Algebra
3. Differential Equations
4. Intro to Proofs
5. Advanced Calculus 1 & 2
6. Abstract Algebra
7. Numerical Analysis
8. Financial Markets & Institutions
9. Intermediate Financial Management
10. Investments
11. Two Math/Stats Electives at the 3000/4000 level
12. Two Finance/Real Estate Electives at the 3000/4000 level.

As the title suggests, I am interested in going int Quant Finance, specifically through a master's program in Mathematical finance/Financial Engineering.

What can I do/what skills should I acquire to boost my chances at getting into a Quant Program?

Also, is it realistic to go straight into a MSFE program straight from undergrad or should I have some work experience with Quantitative Finance before I enter into a master's program?

Thank you all for your help!

P.S: I apologize if some of these questions have been answered on other threads. Please refer me if you can!

Last edited: