• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Analysis polishing

Sometime after I started this last semester of my undergrad, I realized analysis was more important than I originally thought it was. I also realized I was on track to be very deficient in analysis knowledge; luckily, I have a very flexible degree program and can shore that up over the next two years.

Now, the point of this post:

To help me along this path I bought and have been working through Abbott's Understanding Analysis, I'm is about two weeks in and I am into the sixth chapter.
My question is, how well polished do my analysis skills really need to be? I don't have any idea since I'm working through it on my own. On Dr. Duffy's continuum of "get it working -> get it right -> get it optimized," I've gotten most everything working, and a decent portion I've got right, but pretty much all of it is far from optimized (of the stuff I've covered). Granted, it's been two weeks, I obviously didn't expect it to be done yet.