Applying to a PhD program with No Research Experience

Hello all,

I've been lurking for a long time on this website. Now that I have settled on pursuing a PhD in Finance in a Top Tier US institution, I am very much worried about my Research credentials. It is the only area where I feel weak.
Quick notes about my background: I have a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics. I know programming and am preparing for the GRE now. But I am worried that I have zero research. So could you help me answer these two questions:
  1. Do you folks think that having done some research is imperative to be able to join a PhD program in finance. I am assuming the field of such research should be finance/econ/business.
  2. If the answer to (1) is yes, in your opinion, what should I do between now and December to remedy this situation?
Thank you so much.

Viks,

Wasn't a bad post just the traffic on the site has gone down. Your undergrad major is fine for a phd in finance. What was your GPA? Can you answer, why did you not pursue the math honors track at your school? This would have given you research experience during undergrad and also show that you are committed to research. Your GRE should be strong in all categories 90%-ile or better if you want to go to a top institution. Your recommendations also need to be good. If you had done the honors program mostly likely you would have did a thesis working with a teacher who could have elaborated on your research experience, and that in my opinion is a key differentiating factor.

What topic in finance are you interested in?