• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Baruch MFE - do I have any chance?

• Thread starter Thread starter grxthy
  • Start date Start date
I graduated from Baruch with an undergrad BBA in Economics about 3 years ago, and my GPA was pretty mediocre due to some personal issues at the time (3.1).
However, since graduating, I have catapulted my career and self taught myself Data Engineering, Software Development and have risen to a Senior Associate role at Nomura Holdings where I manage a large portfolio of applications as a Software Project Manager. I also have fantastic contacts for professional referrals - Senior VPs at current role, CEO and CTO of past companies

Outside of work, I have been studying Machine Learning and have successfully built a sports betting model for NBA in Python that has generated me a modest amount of extra income. I have become very interested in quantitative finance and I want to go back to school to polish my quantitative skillset and pivot from IT/Software to Quant Development/Research.

However, I'm aware that the competition for Baruch MFE is extremely competitive and selective, and I fear that my bad undergrad GPA will rule me out almost immediately.

If I take all the Pre MFE courses and do very well, and present myself well in the essay, do you think I'll have a chance?

Thanks